Its Pocahontas
 
When I think of parallelism, the first thing that comes to my mind is math and the concept of two line never touching each other. In English, parallelism is known as the balance of sentences with similar phrases who have the same structure. To many authors its a helpful tool that has improve their writing style when writing new pieces of work. The benefit of applying parallelism when one writes, the purpose is to make sentences easier to understand once read. Again, let me remind you that when I used to hear the word parallel in parallelism my mind was going a whole different direction. I think that is why one of the reasons why I couldn't understand the real concept of the word. As i look into more detail on how parallelism works i found it to be understandable. 

Lets take a look at some examples:
When you use parallelism sentences usually flow like this:
- He loves drawing, cleaning, and writing.
When you're not using parallelism, the sentences flow like this:
- He loves drawing, cleaning, and to read.

Now which one does it sound better and easier to understand??
Exactly.

Jasmine J
1/29/2013 12:42:44 pm

This made me wonder, when on Earth did we ever learn about parallelism. I like this literary element because it makes sense. It's more necessary to have than several other ones. The way a sentence flows is something that I really get stuck on. Parallelism has helped me probably more times than I can count.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Sweet and Heady