Its Pocahontas
 


"No, no. you're kind, but I'm afraid I failed and that's that. it was just too much for me. I thought I was bigger figure than I was."
(Cunningham, 65)
In the beginning chapters of Mrs. Dalloway, the character of Richard expresses himself as being a failure. The author uses situational irony in this quote  to keep the interest of the reader as the chapters flip flop between the three major characters.

Analysis:
Richard is one of the influential characters in the life of Clarissa. Him, being her first boyfriend, she takes care of him during his worst days of his life. Richard, being an amazing writer who has won a prize for his latest book, he recognizes himself as a failure. The audience expected this character to be coincided and snobby but its the opposite. After I finished this chapter, I concluded that he regrets not being able to write more during his life short period and the character of Clarissa misunderstands that. 



Leave a Reply.


Sweet and Heady